The Pirate Breeze

31 01 2010

I inhale the pirate breeze
I am the king of the well-intended
and the ill-equipped, the vagabond captain
there is always a pirate breeze under my flag

the Rose spins profligate
thorns singing in the wind
my ship is fleet and the high seas
write their own rules

my poetic license was revoked years ago.
my permit to assemble was not approved
my driver’s card has been suspended
my license to steal lapsed for lack of use
I only have a license to kill
or be killed
I sail under Letters of Marque

I inhale the pirate breeze
salt and treasure, salt and treasure
at the pleasure of the privateer
I inhale the pirate breeze

in a buccaneer ‘s cadence
I wouldn’t rob you with a pen
only at gunpoint, stand,
deliver your heart
more dear to me
than ransoms of golden cups
and squealing women

I inhale the pirate breeze
salt and treasure, salt and treasure
at the pleasure of the privateer
I inhale the pirate breeze

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

