Tonight I Play the Flute

30 01 2010

I spent the week studying the tarot of corporate lingo
the shakes would set in at about four o’clock
cups and pentacles and swords and staves
the metaphors of abandoned ambition

but

tonight I play the flute
the case hasn’t been cracked in weeks
lips are like rubber
but tonight I play the flute
a foggy rendition
of ‘Since I Fell for You.”

Now it’s my
Jethro Tull treatment
of Yardbird Suite
water poppin on a hot griddle
melody and rhythm and percussion
from a one note instrument

Oh yes, Misty
my head is spinning
lips and diaphragm emailing each other
a black and white movie in the air

Buzz tone
Work Song
Cannonball on my shoulder
Roland Kirk in my pocket

My Favorite Things
I mimic Trane on soprano
Julie Andrews is back there somewhere
dancing with Rogers and Hammerstein

I wore my tie with a hangman’s knot
in the closet I hung my suit
spent all day with my nose on the spot
but
tonight I play the flute


Actions

Information

Leave a comment